Reset Preferences

Aseprite preferences are stored in a aseprite.ini file in the configuration folder. You can access this folder from the Edit > Preferences > Locate Configuration File. To reset all configuration you can close Aseprite and delete all the files where aseprite.ini is located:

Files in Preference Folder

In case that you cannot start the program, here the steps on each platform to reset the preferences manually.

On Windows

  1. Close Aseprite
  2. Press the Windows key + R (or Start menu > Run... option). This will show the dialog to run a program. Then you write:

    %AppData%\Aseprite
    

    And press Enter key.

  3. Delete the files in that folder (mainly aseprite.ini)
  4. Restart Aseprite

On macOS

  1. Close Aseprite
  2. Open the Spotlight Search (⌘Space)
  3. Paste this text ~/Library/Application Support/Aseprite with ⌘V and press Enter:

    Spotlight Search

  4. Delete the files in that folder (mainly aseprite.ini)
  5. Restart Aseprite

On Linux

  1. Close Aseprite
  2. Open a Terminal
  3. Write:

    xdg-open ~/.config/aseprite
    
  4. Delete the files in that folder (mainly aseprite.ini)
  5. Restart Aseprite

SEE ALSO

Troubleshooting